Spiritual Warfare Happens

A few days back I wrote a little about Mary’s and my 40 day experience.  The few weeks that have followed have been very interesting to say the least!  Every Sunday has been a continuation of what we experienced during that time.  Kind of a sequel after sequel adding to it.  There has also been the phenomenon of ‘let down’.  I guess the feeling you get when the mountain top experience subsides and “normal” returns, as it inevitably must.  I think that’s completely natural but I also think the devil uses that to instill doubt about what you experienced.  I don’t think he’s totally on his game though.  You can’t instill doubt and then turn around and attack over it.  It just confirms that it all happened and that he’s mad about it.

Last Saturday evening, my oldest daughter Rachel got rather violently ill.  Pretty much everything that could come out, came out!  All day Sunday and Monday she didn’t feel great but could eat and drink and keep it all in.  Nothing out of the ordinary for a bug.  Then Monday afternoon around 4:30, this young woman who had never had anything like this happen to her before, had a seizure.  Grand Mal.  The big, scary as crap kind.  Mary found her and yelled for me.  I happen to work from home on Monday’s so I was there, wrapping up the day’s business.  Mary dealt with EMS while I held Rachel and tried to get something in her mouth so she wouldn’t bite her tongue.  FYI, newest seizure protocol says DO NOT put anything in the victims mouth.  Lesson learned.  In this case, no harm, no foul.

Oh, did I mention that my wife, who’s been unemployed now for several months, had her first decent interview scheduled for early the next morning?  We got home near midnight and were told basically “who knows what caused it”, lab work showed no reason for it, see your regular doc tomorrow.  Weeeeeeellll, tomorrow came alright.  At 6 AM EMS rolled again as we found her in another seizure.  It was less severe and EMS guys, while totally being willing to transport to hospital, explained the situation to us and helped us decide to just go straight to the doc since by that time they were just opening.  Mary caught on to the spiritual warfare side of all this by then but I was still pretty much in a daze.  Still, I thought she should go to the interview, so she did.

Doc had some ideas and prescribed some meds for us.  He wasn’t worried, which helped me calm down some.  Still, no way to know what caused it or why it happened.  Just that normally 20 something year olds don’t just start seizing out of the blue like that.  On the way to get the medicine, she had number 3.  This one was even milder and she basically was just dazed.  We counted 2 more that day.  It’s been about 48 hours now since the last one but she’s still getting sick to her stomach some.  I requested to work from home all week this week to be here to help watch over her.  Mary and I have been tag team watching or checking on her.  Church folks have come by and been supportive.  Mary and I probably slept 12 hours last night between going to bed early and both of us forgetting to set (or turning off) our alarms.  Sanity is returning.

The last time I was involved in a big God thing something similar happened that put ME in the hospital.  The spiritual realm is something I understand very little about but I have no doubt it exists and that we affect it and vice-versa.  I will say this though.  Although we do influence the battle, the battle is the Lords.  He wins every time, regardless.  It’s funny now that I think about it.  As Christians, we are always talking about the consequences of sin.  And although they are very different things, there are also consequences to obeying God and following Him.  I think most often they are very good consequences.  But sometimes, sometimes you get the battle.  What we’ve experienced is nothing compared to Christians who have been persecuted, suffered or died for the cause of Christ but honestly, I’m honored to be allowed into the fight.  As Romans 8:18 says, “I consider our present sufferings insignificant compared to the glory that will soon be revealed to us.”

Just to ad some icing on the cake, our dishwasher broke right before all this happened.  While minor, it still stinks.  If you know where we can pick up a new or used one for cheap, let me know OK?

2 Comments on “Spiritual Warfare Happens”

  1. Rev. Paul says:

    Brother, it’s entirely possible this is a spiritual attack because of the breakthrough you & Mary had, from the 40-day prayer cycle. As one preacher puts it, “New level; new devil.”

    We have the victory, and are MORE than conquerors through the Anointed Jesus, Who guides us. Hallelujah!

    Like


Leave a Reply

