Onward!

I struggled with a title for this post.  Some alternates were:

  • A new beginning (wasn’t really)
  • End of an era (kinda cliche)
  • End of a truly awful, horrible, era (too depressing but not far from accurate)
  • It is finished (Jesus owns that one.  I’m always reluctant to use it)

I think the one I picked is best though.  It’s not a downer.  It implies moving forward, progress, perseverance, those kind of things.  It’s optimistic.  After all, there is something to go onward to!  I could probably come up with several more not quite right titles, but you get the idea.  So what’s this all about?

I.

Finally.

Sold.

MY.

STINKIN.

HOUSE!!!

Yes, the 12 year ordeal is well and truly over.  No more connections to our old place or old town (though I’ll probably eat lunch there regularly since it is right outside the main gate of the base).  And it was indeed an ordeal.  We never should have bought that place to begin with.  The struggles owning it caused were both immense and numerous.  It closed and funded yesterday late in the afternoon.  It will probably take me some time to recover.  It’s not one of those “jump up and down” kind of moments.  It’s more like you held out to the bitter end and once it’s over, you deflate and are just drained.  That’s pretty much where I’m at.  I am exceedingly happy about this though.  Drained but happy!  Now all I have to do is pay all the bills this episode generated.

This news is the main reason there haven’t been many posts about the DoubleP recently.  I hope that changes as of today.  I’m getting more pictures of the place to post and it’s a never ending treasure trove of stories.  I’m still loving it out here and can finally get back to putting in effort here at the ranch rather than that old house!

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have to go fix the chickens water pipes.  Dad gummed dog, sasserfrassenrassersnats, grrrr….

2 Comments on “Onward!”

  1. Rev. Paul says:

    I rejoice with you! Congrats!!

    Like


Leave a Reply

